Poe: Nevermore is an Edgar Allan Poe-inspired thriller in which a young woman must race against time and death to save those she loves while struggling with depression, a new relationship complicated by her past, and an abusive former foster-father. 

Elenora Allison Poe is twenty-four years old, drowning in debt and depression, and very alone, having been orphaned at the age of two and raised in an unloving household.  Suffering from insomnia and PTSD from a traumatic experience seven years before, Poe keeps everyone at arm's length.  Then, she meets homicide detective Caleb Frost and her life changes dramatically.  Frost sees Poe's brokenness in perfect clarity and sympathizes with her.  However, just when Poe is starting to let him in, she discovers a horrible truth: she is the sole direct descendant of Edgar Allan Poe, inheriting not only the last name of one of the world's most famous poets, but also a terrible family curse that takes the form of Edgar Allan Poe's most haunting tales.  If Poe cannot recognize the curse unfolding in time, it will destroy the lives of all those close to her and annihilate her sanity.

Nevermore is the first in a six-book series that follows Poe's trials and the curse she bears.  It was named a Finalist for CBR's 2013 Clue Awards for new Mystery/Suspense/Thriller novels, and earned First Place in CBR's 2013 Paranormal Awards in the Contemporary Gothic category.  It is now available as an e-book through 11 online retailers.  It is also now available as a paperback through Amazon.  Keep watching rachelmmartens.com for details on the progress and release dates of the next installment in the series.

Poe: Nevermore is available as an e-book through 12 major retailers, including Amazon, the iBookstoreKoboCopiaBarnes&NobleScribde-Sentral, EBSCO, Vearsa, Baker&Taylor, and Ciando (for Gardner's, search by ISBN 781483500935)





Need more?  Sign up for Rachel M. Martens' newsletter to receive exclusive additional material from Nevermore, including scenes rewritten from Frost's point of view, and to receive updates on progress on the next book in the series and Martens' other projects.  Just type your email address into the widget at the top of the page and hit 'go'!



"Bring Me to Life" - Evanescence

"Never Too Late" - Three Days Grace

"Much Like Falling" - Flyleaf

"The Last Night" - Skillet

"Broken Pieces" - Apocalyptica ft. Lacey Sturm

"Life is Beautiful" - Sixx A.M.

"Fully Alive" - Flyleaf

"In a Hole Again" - Tesla

"The Kill" - Thirty Seconds to Mars

"Broken" - Seether ft. Amy Lee

"I’m Not an Angel" - Halestorm

"Afraid" - Motley Crue

"Private Parts" - Halestorm ft. James Michael

"Blackbird" - Alterbridge

"Skin" - Sixx A.M.

"Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again" - from Andrew Lloyd Webber's "The Phantom of the Opera"